Premiere UK' RockSteady-Soul

We are delighted to announce that we've signed Pama International to Record Kicks label. After a 7 year hiatus Pama International are back with a brand new line-up and album ‘Love & Austerity", which is set for a spring 2017 release on Record Kicks. It comprises of no less than 8 singles, taking in thunderous dubs, “premier rocksteady” (David Rodigan), soul ballads, and a Jackie Mittoo/Studio One inspired organ cut.

The album is produced by Pama Intl founder/keyboardist Sean Flowerdew and guitarist Lenny Bignell and stars the beautiful lead vocal harmonies of Jewels Vass and Anna Uhuru, drummer extraordinaire Bullit (previously worked with The Wailing Souls, Lee Perry, Max Romeo) and trumpeter Gary Alesbrook (Kasabian). The first single, a reworking of Martha Reeves & The Vandella’s soul classic Heatwave is out this Friday 2nd December'16, has already picked by global airplay including BBC 6 music (Craig Charles Funk & Soul Show, Don Letts & Chris Hawkins shows), BBC1xtra (David Rodigan) and BBC Radio 2 (Alex Lester).

In their first 10 years Pama Int’l recorded 9 albums, 3 BBCRadio 1 Maida Vale sessions, won the Rebel playlist on BBC6, and became the first new act to sign to Trojan Records in 30 years. Their collective nature saw them work with members of The Specials, Madness, Steel Pulse, Style Council, Galliano, Kasabian, Billy Bragg, Mad Professor, Michie One, Wrongtom and Jamaican legends; Derrick Morgan, Dave & Ansel Collins, Dawn Penn, Dennis Alcapone and Rico Rodriguez. Constant touring saw them gig with Madness, The Specials, Toots & The Maytals, Jimmy Cliff, Prince Buster, Mick Jones (The Clash), Third World, Lee Perry, Max Romeo, Janet Kay and Caroll Thompson to name a few. Not content to keep his sound to the music world alone Pama Intl’s writer Sean Flowerdew work has been featured on nine British and Hollywood film soundtracks and television. The most successful being ‘Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels’ and US blockbuster ‘Fool’s Gold’. Pama International’s new line-up entered the live scene earlier this year with a sold-out year long residency as Trojan Records house band at their official London club night and gigs with Studio One legend Bob Andy, Zion Train, King Prawn, Don Letts, Axis sound system, Sounds & Pressure lo-fi, Tighten Up crew and Misty In Roots. To support the release of their ‘Love & Austerity’ album the band kick off 2017 as part of the official Trojan Records UK club tour and 6 dates with the reformed Dead 60s.

Pama International live:

09 London The Garage w/ King Prawn, Don Letts & Shocks of Mighty

12 Bristol The Attic - Trojan Records official club tour
13 Nottingham The Maze - Trojan Records official club tour
27 Reading Purple Turtle - Trojan Records official club tour

10 Newcastle The Cluny 2 - Trojan Records official club tour
11 Leeds The Wardrobe - Trojan Records official club tour

11 Blaenau Ffestiniog Cell - Trojan Records official club tour
17 Cardiff The Globe - Trojan Records official club tour

06 Glasgow O2 ABC 2 w/ The Dead 60s
07 Sheffield O2 Academy 2 w/ The Dead 60s
08 Birimingham O2 Institute 2 w/ The Dead 60s
09 Brighton Concorde 2 w/ The Dead 60s
13 London Electric Ballroom w/ The Dead 60s / part of The London Intl Ska Festival 2017
14 Liverpool O2 Academy w/ The Dead 60s

Share |

Record Kicks™ ● Sempione 38 - 20154 Milano ● p. iva/vat n. 01166050110 ● tel. (+39) 02.36561042 ● fax (+39) 02.36561042 ●

Engineered by Innoteam ● Powered by eZ Publish